Those Brave Decisions Lead to Accountability and Value!!!

 

What does this mean?

We all represent the result of lessons learned from the various paths we’ve taken and or decisions we’ve made! The paths or decisions were not always clear or planned but we chose them nonetheless! In other words, we have to own our actions and the results that come from them.

That is being accountable!!!

Lady1

In previous Blogs, I had discussed where experiences come from and the importance of learning the value of the decisions we make. Knowing the value of the experience and owning the outcome of it is Accountability! The decisions I am talking about are not limited to any one area or a specific subject. They include the jobs we’ve had (or why we left them), the clothes we choose to wear, the impressions made by how we chose to present ourselves and – YES – the friends we make, keep or distance ourselves from. Accountability!

 

Let me demonstrate what I mean by the value of the decisions we make and how we have to be accountable or own the outcomes of those decisions:

Guy1While in high school, I came home one night from a part-time job to a very confusing situation. My father had a list of questions for me about a phone call he received that left him very upset. “Why were you out at a restaurant, trying to treat your friends to dinner, with no money to pay for the food you ordered?”  He grew very impatient as I tried to gathermy thoughts about what he was talking about. “I asked you a question that I need answered”, he snapped!  Having absolutely no clue as to what he was upset about, nor what restaurant I was supposed to have visited, I could not answer any of his questions.  Knowing I had not been to any restaurant that evening, I confidently suggested we quickly go and visit the restaurant and clear this matter up.  As soon as we met the owner and introduced ourselves, he immediately acknowledged that I had not been there and apologized for the confusion.  Once he explained what had happened and how he got my name and phone number, I was able to help him recover his losses by directing him to the “friend” that used my name. My “friend” didn’t want to be accountable for his actions.  This made me face a harsh reality – he wasn’t a true friend and would only jeopardize my progress!  In order to be accountable to my opportunities for success, I would have to distance myself from him and others like him.

Lady2

As Juniors and Seniors in High School, you too will be faced with making these types of decisions.  They are painful and very hard to do.  They will not make you popular with some people but you have to be accountable to your progress and the opportunities that exist in front of you.  Be assured that you will make the proper friends as you learn what to look for in a friend!  Be courageous and face these decisions head-on and perhaps encourage your friend(s) to change their ways.  If they won’t be accountable for their actions, think distance – before they pull you down!

I grew up on the East Coast and loved deep-sea fishing and crabbing.  When we would sit the bucket of crabs that we caught on the sand, just inches from the ocean they came from, a very interesting thing would happen.  The crab on the top would try to crawl out but the others below it would pull it back.  Had they followed it instead of discouraging it, they would have all been safe, enjoyed life and reached their goals!

How many of your current “friends” are the “crabs in the bucket” below you?

Guy2Are you being accountable for your actions and to your opportunities?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Those Brave Decisions Lead to Accountability and Value!!!

Leave a comment